Modern View of Ancient Ireland

Composers and Ian.jpg

'Modern View of Ancient Ireland' is a series of works for saxophone and electronics by Irish composers, commissioned by Robert. Each piece in the series deals with a different aspect of Ireland’s rich ancient history and culture.

Describing the beautiful landscapes that surround the island, to the legends and folklore children are taught from a young age, this project is a very personal one to Robert. The addition of electronics along with the personal visions of the contemporary Irish composers provides a modern view of these ancient themes.


The works currently part of this series include:


‘Between Stone and Sun (After Newgrange)’

Ian Wilson (2018)


‘Three Louth Legends’

John Buckley (2021)



Finola Merivale (2021)



Christopher Moriarty (2021)